Rappahannock Friends and Lovers of Our Watershed

Rappahannock County Water Quality Advisory Committee

Reports & Meeting Minutes

Aug 06 | Apr 06 | Mar 06 | Feb 06 | Jan 06 | Nov 05 | Oct 05 | Jul 05 | Apr 05 | Feb 05

Water Quality Advisory Committee
January 12, 2006

Members Present: Reid Folsom, RLEP, Chair; Kenner Love, Virginia Cooperative Extension; Medge Carter, Virginia Department of Health; Monira Rifaat, Rappahannock County Farmland Protection Committee; Josh Makela, Rappahannock County High School; Tom Tepper, Rappahannock County Planning Commission; S. Bryant Lee, Rappahannock County Board of Supervisors; John W. McCarthy, County Administrator

Members Absent: Bev. Hunter, RappFLOW; Greg Wichelns, Culpeper Soil & Water Conservation District

Also Present: Richard Jacobs, Culpeper Soil & Water Conservation District

Mr. Folsom called the meeting to order at 5:03.  By unanimous consent, the agenda was approved.  With no amendment, and after a brief discussion, the minutes of the November 10, 2005 meeting were approved.

Mr. McCarthy reported that the Board of Supervisors of Rappahannock County had voted to recommend denial of the Tier III designation of the Hazel River to the State Water Control Board, while subsequently  the Culpeper County Board of Supervisors had voted to recommend approval.  At this point, the State Water Control Board may elect to propose for public comment all, a portion or none of the River for Tier III designation.  The Chair asked for continued updates on the process at subsequent meetings.

The Chair noted that Ms. Hunter was unable to attend the meeting, due to her absence at the birth of a grandchild; by consensus, the NFWF Grant proposal of RappFLOW was deferred until the next meeting.

Similarly, the Upper Thornton Watershed questionnaire of RappFLOW was discussed, but in the absence of Ms. Hunter, individual members of WQAC were urged to e-mail Ms. Hunter with suggestions.  The Chair noted that he intended to do so.  The group’s consensus was that further simplifying the instrument might ensure a better response, as would the provision of a self-addressed stamped envelope.

The Chair gave a report of a recent session on water resources sponsored by the Department of Conservation and Recreation

Under other items, Mrs. Elizabeth Haskell was introduced by Monira  Rifaat and she proceeded to outline the current plans of the Town of Washington’s proposed sewage treatment facility.  The comment period on the draft permit issued by the Department of Environmental Quality closes on January 23rd.  Concern was expressed over that tight timetable and Dr. Rifaat wondered what the proper posture of the WQAC should be.

It was generally agreed that the WQAC should act to advise the Board of Supervisors, and that an extension of the time period should be sought.  A discussion followed concerning the trading of pollution credits, the standards that the proposed facility would be required to meet, and the need for careful monitoring in operations.  After further discussion,  Dr. Rifaat moved to have the Chair direct a letter to DEQ requesting a sixty (60) day extension to the comment period.  Seconded by Mr. Tepper, the motion passed unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:14 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,


John W. McCarthy, Secretary

John W. McCarthy
County Administrator
Rappahannock County
(540) 675-5330  voice
(540) 675-5331  fax